Thunder crush Stars to win WBBL title

Shabnim Ismail (right) bowled a sublime opening spell for Sydney Thunder
Melbourne Stars 86-9 (20.0 overs): Brunt 22*; Johnson 2-11, Ismail 2-12
Sydney Thunder 87-3 (13.4 overs): Knight 26*, Trenaman 23
Thunder win by seven wickets

Sydney Thunder crushed a poor Melbourne Stars by seven wickets to win the Women’s Big Bash League title.

The Stars elected to bat first but crumbled to 86-9, the lowest ever total in a WBBL final, against a superb Thunder bowling performance.

England captain Heather Knight (26 not out) hit a six to secure victory as she and Rachael Haynes (21 not out) eased their side to 87-3 off just 13.4 overs.

It is the Thunder’s second title, having won the first WBBL in 2015-16.

“I’m so chuffed, what a performance by the bowlers,” said Knight, who joined a largely young Thunder squad from Hobart Hurricanes this season.

“I’ve really enjoyed the move, the team has been awesome and it’s amazing to be a part of the start of their journey.”

More to follow

BBC News – Home

Source –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *